Wednesday, 20 August 2014

Rugby World Cup champions

Great to hear of the recent Rugby World Cup victory, with the England team beating Canada 21-9 to lift the trophy.

Our previous World Cup victory was back in 2003, when Jonny Wilkinson's last minute drop goal famously clinched the final against Australia.

There is a subtle difference between the two however - you see, The Guardian, Telegraph, Independent, BBC, and many other media outlets all refer to the victory in the Women's World Cup.  I've had a quick search online, and I can't find any references to the 2003 victory as being in the Men's World Cup - it's just the World Cup.

Is that really so important?  In my opinion, it is.  It gives the impression that the Men's World Cup is somehow the real tournament, with the Women's tournament somehow being less important.

There's another Rugby World Cup next year - let's just refer to this tournament as the 2014 Rugby World Cup, and next year's as the 2015 Rugby World Cup.

But, some people may say, how would we know which tournament was which?

To which I reply - why does it matter?

No comments:

Post a Comment